June 29 and 30, 2013

Photo Credit: Rick Gerharter

Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Pride

Pink Brick

The Pink Brick is a symbol of the first brick hurled at the Stonewall Riots in 1969. This faux award is an opportunity to highlight an individual or organization that has done significant harm to the LGBT community. It is also an opportunity to educate the community and the Pink Brick recipient about relevant issues.

About the Pink Brick

The Pink Brick, a symbol of the first brick hurled at the Stonewall Rebellion in 1969, is an annual 'award' given each year to a person or institution whose actions are deemed to have caused significant harm to the LGBT community.

2010 Annual Pink Brick Award is given to Senator Roy Ashburn
Anti-Gay California Senator Is Award's First Gay Recipient

Senator Ashburn has served in the California state legislature since 1996 and has an extensive voting history of vigorously opposing LGBT rights, including his overwhelming support of the state's Proposition 8 which denied equal rights to LGBT citizens. Early in March 2010, Senator Ashburn was arrested for drunk driving shortly after he left a Sacramento gay bar with another man in his state-issued car. Ashburn's arrest has sparked major controversy. Since his arrest he has admitted he is gay, and claims his voting record reflects his constituent's views. Ashburn says he plans to continue voting on behalf of what he sees as the majority viewpoint in his district, even if that means voting against LGBT civil rights.

Past Pink Brick (Dis-)Honorees

The following were the Pink Brick recipients for in years past:

  2015 American Family Association
  2014 Scott Lively
  2013 Boy Scouts of America
  2012 Peter La Barbera
  2011 Lou Engle
  2010 California Senator Roy Ashburn
  2009 Carrie Prejean
Runner-up: Archbishop George Niederauer
  2008 Bill O'Reilly
  2007 George W. Bush
  2006 Arnold Schwarzenegger
  2005 Senator Diane Feinstein