April 13, 2011

2011 San Francisco Pride Grand Marshals Chosen

300% Increase in Voting Turnout This Year

San Francisco, CA – 13 April 2011 – With a more than 300% increase in voting turnout this year, the San Francisco Lesbian Gay Bisexual Transgender Pride Committee is pleased to present their 2011 Grand Marshals. Debuting their new online voting system back on March 26th, SF Pride saw an early and dramatic increase in total votes cast. Over the next fifteen days, 2,736 people made their choices known, surpassing a previous high count by more than 500 ballots cast.

The combined votes of the General Membership, Board of Directors, SF Pride Electoral College, and the community at large have elected the following:

Community Grand Marshals: Dr. Aaron Belkin (SFSU professor and key advocate for the repeal of DADT), Victoria Kolakowski (first openly elected transgender Superior Court judge), Christiana Remington (community activist and event producer), Terry Stewart (defense attorney, challenger of Prop. 8), Rev. Roland Stringfellow (builder of relationships between the LGBT and religious communities), and Graylin K. Thornton (Leather Community activist and past-board member for New Leaf Services).

Honorary Grand Marshals: Susie Bright (editor of first women’s magazine: On Our Backs, sexologist, activist), and Ron Wong (API activist, past-board member for SF Pride).

In a vote so close that there was just a 6-point lead, the vote for Local Organizational Grand Marshal goes to the GLBT Historical Society and History Museum.

In addition to the above, Bishop Yvette Flunder has been selected as the Lifetime Achievement Grand Marshal. When learning the news, Bishop Flunder commented, As a native San Franciscan and an out leader in the faith community, I am honored and humbled to be recognized as the Lifetime Achievement Grand Marshal by my own community.“

The Trevor Project has been named as the National Organizational Grand Marshal. A contingent of folks from The Trevor Project, the It Gets Better Project, and various other anti-bullying and anti-suicide organizations have been invited to lead off the 2011 Parade, behind the Dykes on Bikes contingent. This honor is given to a faction or vital issue of the community each year.

Celebrity Grand Marshals confirmed to date are Chaz Bono, Olympia Dukakis, and Yigit Pura.

Finally, the Pink Brick Award Recipient — the one person who has done the most damage to the LGBT community and/or movement — is Lou Engle.

For full biographies of the grand marshals, and for more information about San Francisco LGBT Pride, please visit


About San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration Committee (SFLGBTPCC):
The San Francisco LGBT Pride Celebration Committee ( is a non-profit membership organization founded to produce the annual San Francisco Pride Celebration & Parade. San Francisco Pride is dedicated to education, commemoration of LGBT heritage and celebration of LGBT culture and liberation. A world leader in the Pride movement, San Francisco Pride is also a grant-giving organization through its Community Partners Program. Since 1997, SF Pride has granted over $1.7 million dollars from proceeds of the Pride Celebration and Parade to local non-profit LGBT organizations and those organizations serving the HIV/AIDS and breast cancer communities.

About the 2011 San Francisco Pride Celebration & Parade:
2011 marks the 41st anniversary of the San Francisco Pride Celebration and Parade. The Pride Celebration & Parade will be held over the weekend of June 25 and 26, 2011. With over 200 parade contingents, 300 exhibitors, and more than twenty community-run stages and venues, the San Francisco Pride Celebration and Parade is the largest annual gathering of LGBT people and allies in the nation. The two-day celebration is free and open to all. For more information please visit our website at


For Further Information Please Contact:

Brendan Behan
Interim Executive Director
1841 Market Street, Fourth Floor
San Francisco, CA 94103-1112
Phone (415) 864-0831 ext.102
Fax (415) 864-5889