April 6, 2005
And the Winners Are…

Community Elects Activists & Leaders As Grand Marshals
Pet Support Group Elected As Organization Grand Marshal
“Pink Brick” Winner Announced

The community has spoken, and in an incredibly close election, chosen celebrity drag queen and former Miss Gay San Francisco and Empress, Donna Sachet as San Francisco LGBT Pride’s Community Grand Marshal. Sachet is one of the most recognizable faces in San Francisco – gay or straight – and is an avid community fundraiser, event emcee, television hostess and performer. On news of her election, Sachet said:

“It’s such an honor to be nominated with that panel of people. I have walked the route, ridden floats, and sang on floats, but my role as Community Grand Marshal is a once-in-a-lifetime event.”

In keeping with tradition, the top four vote getters will share the honor. Second place winner Juanita More is one of San Francisco’s most influential drag personas, and has a long history of activism and fundraising in the HIV/AIDS, Latino and other LGBT communities. The third place winner is James Hormel who is perhaps best known as the first openly gay United States ambassador, when in 1999 he was named to head the diplomatic mission in Luxembourg by then-President Bill Clinton. Hormel has been a leader in the community for decades, funding numerous projects and organizations, such as the James C. Hormel Gay and Lesbian Center at the San Francisco Public Library. The fourth place winner, Randy Burns, is the founder of Gay American Indians, an organization formed 30 years ago to serve LGBT Native Americans. He is also an HIV/AIDS activist.

Joining these four accomplished activists, is the Organization Grand Marshal winner Pets Are Wonderful Support (PAWS), a non-profit organization dedicated to keeping people with HIV/AIDS and other illness together with their companion animals. On being elected Organization Grand Marshal, Executive Director John Lipp, said:

“We are thrilled! It is incredibly good news. The other organizations are fantastic and serve the community on all levels. It is even more of an honor to be selected from that list. To be selected, even though we did not run a campaign, shows people support our work, and that’s great.”

Joey Cain, Pride Board President said:

“Once again the community has chosen a strong slate of community grand marshals. Each one has made significant contributions to the culture and politics of the LGBT community.”

Additionally, the public, through community voting, has chosen Senator Diane Feinstein as the recipient of the 2005 Pink Brick Award. This award is given out to an individual or group deemed to have hurt the LGBT community in the last year.

This year marks the 35th anniversary of the San Francisco Pride Parade and Celebration. The event theme is, “Stand Up, Stand Out, Stand Proud,” and will be held the June 25/26 weekend. For more information about San Francisco LGBT Pride please visit our website at: www.sfpride.org.

For further information please contact Jonathan Fishleder at: (415) 864-0831.