Absolutely Fabulous

The Parade Committee is thrilled to announce the winners of this year’s Parade Awards. Awards are given in a number of categories to recognize the effort put by contingents into their Parade entry. The categories span a number of different aspects of the Parade from how well the theme is used to the most engaging visiting contingents.

This year’s categories and award winners are:

Fabulously Outrageous: Golds Gym, Sage of Aquarius, Waking Dream/Robotopia, Electric Playground, Pleasure Hogs Enjoying You.

Fabulous Showing of Theme: NCLR, L+G Immigration Task Force, Charlotte Maxwell Complimentary Clinic, Californians For Same Sex Marriage, Californians Helping Alleviate Medical Problems, The Radical Faeries.

Fabulous Individuals: Mary Go Round, Tonica Collins Balloon Girl, “Whip Man” From SF Leather Pride/Daddy’s, Gina “Boom Boom” Guidi.

Fabulous Street Act: ROTC, Pro Latino, Cheer San Francisco, SPCA - SF, Barbary Coast Cloggers,

Fabulous Visiting Contingent: Russian River Chamber of Commerce, Sacramento Valley Bears, PFLAG - OAHU, Hayward - Where The Other Side Meets, Tourisme Montreal.

Fabulous Marching Contingent: SF Leather Pride/Daddy’s Bar, PFLAG, All Our Families, Scouting For All, LYRIC. Fabulous Musical Contingent: Stanford Gay + Lesbian Alumni, Stanford University, San Francisco Lesbian/Gay Freedom Band, Foggy City Dancers, Lesbian & Gay Chorus of SF, Freedom in Christ Evangelical Church.

Fabulously Diverse: New Leaf Services To Our Community, UTOPIA, Walden House, The Global Fund For Women, Imperial Council of SF.

Absolutely Fabulous: AIDS Emergency Fund, Healing Waters, Names Project Foundation, SMMILE SOMA Bare Chest Calendar, Kimpton Hotel & Restaurant Group.

The winners receive a rosette and many were handed out on the Parade route. The remaining rosettes will be presented at the Community Partners Grant Awards event on July 31.

The judges were coordinated by San Francisco community activist and fundraiser, Gary Virginia. who said: “We were extremely impressed with the amount of energy and creativity put into the costumes and floats -- the best we’ve seen in years.”

Joining Gary in the judging enclosure this year were; Gail Wilson, Bob Kantor, Eric Bernier, Veronika Cauley, Susan Fahey, Laura Federico, K.C. Dare, Miguel Gutierrez and Karn Kongsawat.

Pride Committee President, Calvin Gipson, praised the judges for their efforts and said: “The diversity of the community was truly reflected at this year’s Parade. Everyone was represented and the spirit of inclusion was very exciting. Hats off to all of the winners and to the judges for their superb job.”


For further information please contact Teddy Witherington at (415) 864 0831