Membership Chooses “Global Equality” as 2012 Celebration and Parade Theme

The membership of Pride selected the event theme for the 42nd annual San Francisco Pride Celebration & Parade on June 23-24, 2012. From a list of 46 theme submissions submitted by community members and members of the Pride Committee, a majority of members voted for “Global Equality.”

Bishop Christopher Senyonjo of Uganda and Rev. Canon Albert Ogle of San Diego submitted the winning theme. Bishop Senyonjo has been visiting California to raise awareness of the plight of LGBT Ugandans and others in the 76 countries which currently criminalize LGBT people. Bishop Senyonjo is calling for a grass roots educational campaign, led by local Pride organizations to help the American public understand the urgency to decriminalize LGBT people globally, particularly around access to HIV prevention information and critically needed health services. The bishop and Rev. Canon Albert Ogle of the St. Paul’s Foundation for International Reconciliation met with the leadership of San Francisco Pride on Friday, September 2, and submitted their theme.

Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender people are more likely to experience discrimination, harassment, or threat of violence due to their sexual orientation or gender identity. Despite some of the social and political successes LGBT people have gained in the United States, much work remains to be done on a global scale. Looking beyond our borders we find that in some countries, being openly LGBT is illegal and punishable by imprisonment or even death.

Membership in the Pride Celebration Committee is free and open to any individual. Membership applications can be submitted online at

Pride’s membership also voted in Davace Chin, a co-chair of Pride’s Hospitality Committee, as a new member of the Board of Directors in addition to confirming Board Chair Lisa William’s continued tenure. Also elected to the board were Lou Fischer, Bill Hemenger, Reggie Johnson, Lord Martine, and Eric Rosswood.

Current Board of Directors for 2011-2012:

  • Lisa Williams, chair
  • Bill Hemenger, treasurer
  • Joshua Smith, secretary
  • Davace Chin, member
  • Lou Fischer, member
  • Reggie Johnson, member
  • Lord Martine, member
  • Eric Rosswood, member

The primary criteria in Pride Celebration Committee board member selection is a thorough understanding of and commitment to the mission and core values of Pride and a strong record of excellence in community engagements and professional organizations as well as experience with nonprofit finances, fundraising and development. The Pride board’s nominating committee is currently accepting applications from the community. Interested candidates can contact Pride at to inquire about how to apply.

The next board meeting, open to the public, is Tuesday, October 4 at 7:00 p.m. at San Francisco Pride’s offices at 1841 Market Street on the fourth floor. Visitors to the office must enter at the side of the building at 30 Pearl Street prior to 7:00 p.m. to attend.

This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>